Tuesday, May 17, 2022

The Ten Laureates of the 2022 Awards for Promoting Philippines China Understanding 

After the successful launch of the Award for Promoting Philippines-China Understanding last year (2021), the Association for Philippines-China Understanding (APCU) and the Embassy of the People’s Republic of China in the Republic of the Philippines are delighted to announce the Ten Laureates of APPCU this year (2022). 

APPCU pays special tribute to Filipinos who have made efforts through time to strengthen friendly ties and promote mutual understanding between the Philippines and China using their respective advocacies and expertise in the various fields and disciplines of Mass Media and Public Service; Trade and Commerce; and Arts, Culture, and the Sciences. 

Since the launch of the second year of APPCU last January 2022, members of the board and the committee behind APPCU have endeavored to streamline its search for well-deserving individuals for recognition of their efforts and contributions in fostering and promoting understanding, appreciation, and the reinforcement of amity between the Philippines and China. 

Ten public and private sector individuals have passed the three-stage selection and judging process from a list of nominees beginning the early quarter of this year. Their works' prestige, nature, and extent are essentially the basis for identifying their respective award category. Currently, there are three categories for the award;

The Hall of Fame category, which acknowledges the prestige and stature of the individual, and the immense effort of work the individual has done over time, as may be evidenced by the extent of reach, impact, and reception of the work(s) by communities and societies.

The Outstanding Contributions category recognizes individuals of lesser prominence but has nonetheless made notable contributions to promoting and strengthening Philippines-China bilateral relations, friendship, cooperation, and understanding. 

The Major Contributions category recognizes the works of individuals whose works have a growing reach and impact on the lives of specific groups or communities of people at the grassroots level. 

Moreover, this year, the organizing committee of APPCU will be extending a Special Award, the Gawad Sultan Paduka Pahala, to the late Philippine Ambassador to China, His Excellency Jose Santiago “Chito” Sta. Romana. 

This year’s APPCU Hall of Fame awardees are Former Philippine President Joseph Ejercito Estrada and former Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary to the People's Republic of China, Ambassador Francisco Benedicto.

The awardees for the APPCU Outstanding Contributions are the Honorary Chairman of Anvil Business Club, Board Member and Chairman of FFCCCII Public Information & Media Committee, and Moderator of Pandesal Forum at 83-year-old Kamuning Bakery Caf√©, Wilson Lee Flores, Manila Standard Columnist and Contributor of China Daily Global Edition, and Global Times, Rodrigo “Rod” P. Kapunan, Manila Times Columnist and book author, Mauro Gia Zamonte, and the President of Philsilat Sports Association, and the Co-Founder & President of the International Center for Peace, Reconciliation and Development (ICPRD), Princess Jacel H. Kiram of the Sultanate of Sulu.

The awardees for the Major Contributions category are the former President and now the Secretary of the National Press Club (NPC), Columnist/Reporter for the Philippine Journalists, Inc. (PJI), publisher of ‘People’s Journal,’ People’s Journal Tonight, and the Owner & Publisher of Pinoy Expos√©, Paul Gutierrez, the Philippine Director of Confucius Institute at Angeles University Foundation, Professor Cavin Franco Pamintuan, the Senior Lecturer at the University of the Philippines Visayas, Professor Celso L. Cainglet, and the former city councilor who served for three terms and is now the chief of the Davao City Investment and Promotion Center (DCIPC), April Marie C. Dayap. 

The ten awardees will be recognized in an Award Ceremony held on the 10th of June this year. All awardees will receive a trophy, a recognition plaque, and a certificate. On the other hand, prize money will be given to each awardee for the Outstanding Contributions and Major Contributions categories.

No comments:

Post a Comment